276°
Posted 20 hours ago

Chaos

£5.495£10.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

To calculate the overall star rating and percentage breakdown by star, we don’t use a simple average. To be honest I'd say it's not for the faint-hearted but if you're "into" this kind of thing then you'll most likely enjoy "Chaos". However, apart from all these philosophical implications about life, I really wanted to learn a bit of science behind chaos theory. I did study a bit of Physics in a past life, but you don't need to have a background in science to get something out of this book.

If you want to cultivate a general appreciation of the foundations of material reality then this is a great place to start. The paradox is that although nonlinearity is almost the standard form in which Nature manifests itself to us, the entire tradition of Science, is based on transforming nonlinear systems to linear ones, creating an arsenal of mathematical tricks to do that, even worse, these complexities are viewed as ‘noises’, ‘irregularities’, something which ideally should not be there in the first place. This book was into the most extraordinary mathematics ever, but the wonderful author writing so clearly and simply made it all utterly understandable. A work of popular science in the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan, James Gleick’s groundbreaking bestseller Chaos introduces his readership to chaos theory, one of the most significant waves of scientific knowledge in our time.

It's another journalist writing about mathematics, though this one anticipated the Wikipedia Age by two decades. An enhanced ebook edition was released by Open Road Media in 2011, adding embedded video and hyperlinked notes. If I had the time, I'd like to run the calculations myself, as they seem within the reach of anyone with a laptop. Beloit Mandelbrot, an IBM mathematician working with an equation that produces fractals, arrives to give a presentation to an economics class and finds "his" equation already on the board; the patterns he's found in pure math also apply in economics, the reproductive rates and numbers of animal populations, and countless other places.

Since most of mathematics was done by proof, this was very new inside of the field itself, and quit the breakthrough. It was a finalist for the National Book Award [2] and the Pulitzer Prize [3] in 1987, and was shortlisted for the Science Book Prize in 1989. James Gleick (born August 1, 1954) is an American author, journalist, and biographer, whose books explore the cultural ramifications of science and technology.James Gleick was born in New York and began his career in journalism, working as an editor and reporter for the New York Times. One of the compelling features of the chaos story is that this scientific breakthrough wasn't a physics, mathematics, chemistry, astronomy, or biology breakthrough; it was all of them. Half of what draws me to physics, to theory, to Feynman and Fermat, to Wittgenstein and Weber, is the energy that boils beyond the theory. Personally I wasn't overly enamoured with the first half of this book - with the possible exception of the piece on Mr Mandelbrot himself - it's very much a historic account of who figured what out rather than shedding light on chaos theory itself.

In the end, this was definitely a very light and fun read and that is quit the reason it is so popular. It describes the Mandelbrot set, Julia sets, and Lorenz attractors without using complicated mathematics.The few things that kept being used as examples were the motion of water in a stream (fluid dynamics), or air tubulence.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment